Flatland, Helga

Helga Flatland's debut novel Stay If You Can. Leave If You Must (2010) received excellent reviews and established Flatland as one of the foremost up-and-coming, young Norwegian authors. For this novel she was awarded the Tarjei Vesaas’ First Book Prize, The Young Critics Award, the Aschehoug First Book Scholarship, and she was nominated for the P2-radio listeners’ novel prize. She consolidated her position with Everyone Wants to Go Home. No One Wants to Go Back (2011) and There Is No Whole (2013).The three books constitute a trilogy about small town Norway and the world around it, told through the story of three young childhood friends who travel to Afghanistan and are killed in action.

Each novel on it´s own is a stylistic masterpiece that could, but shouldn't, be read separately. Together, they form a phenomenal story Danish Extrabladet wrote of the trilogy.

Flatland's fourth novel Wing Loading (2015) got rave reviews, with VG's critic declaring it An important novel about our time.

Photographer: Niklas Lello

Selected bibliography & translations

Year Norwegian title English Title Rights sold to Foreign publisher
2015 Vingebelastning Wing Loading
2015 Eline får besøk Eline Plays with Markus
2013 Det finnes ingen helhet There is No Whole
Danish Batzer & Co
2011 Alle vil hjem. Ingen vil tilbake. Everyone Wants to Go Home. No One Wants to Go Back.
Bulgarian Perseus Publishing House
Danish Batzer & Co
2010 Bli hvis du kan. Reis hvis du må Stay If You Can. Leave If You Must
Albanian Shkupi
Bulgarian Perseus
Czech Větrné mlýny
Danish Batzer & Co

Printer friendly versionPrinter friendly version