The Conqueror

Kjærstad, Jan: Erobreren

Is it possible to change a life by telling it?

The story about TV star Jonas Wergeland's extraordinary career continues. The seducer has now turned conqueror, and his story is told again, from a different angle, filling in holes and making new patterns become visible.

A university professor is commissioned to write the "definitive" Wergeland biography. He has collected extensive background material, but cannot bring himself to start writing. A woman seeks him out and over the course of seven days, she tells the wildly meandering story about Jonas - from his childhood, filled with magical sensuousness, through to an adulthood marked by the eroticist’s tragic insights.

The Conqueror is the second book in the trilogy about Jonas Wergeland. The other books are The Seducer and The Discoverer .

The Conqueror lies in wait if you’re willing to be seduced by a mysterious woman, and by some of the stories that create a human being”

Jan Kjærstad: Biography and bibliography

First published: 1996, Aschehoug Fiction

Rights sold to

Language Foreign publisher
American English Open Letter
British English Arcadia
Danish Samleren
Dutch De Geus
Finnish WSOY
German Kiepenheuer & Witsch
Spanish Nórdica Libros, S.L.
Swedish Atlantis
Turkish Oblomov Kitap

Printer friendly versionPrinter friendly version